Easy Green Tomato Chutney

Got a lot of green tomatoes?

For those of us in the southern hemisphere we are now well and truly heading into autumn.

Chances are your tomato plants have finished producing tomatoes and are a withering heap of brown mess in your vege patch. But on the off chance you do still have a few scraggly plants with a mixture of red and green fruit then this is the post for you!

Last year my tiny vegetable garden was a great success.

Our vege haul

I managed to rope in my long suffering father to give me a hand tidying up

Tidying the garden

He even cleared my compost bin – my most hated chore.

Clearing the compost bin

Thanks dad!

We had an over abundance of green tomatoes and couldn’t bear the thought of them going to waste. Green tomato Collage

Don’t they look spectacular.

So my mother (another long suffering family member) taught me how to do some preserving.

Green tomato chutney cooking

We used this recipe I’d found in the New Zealand Gardener 2012 Garden Diary

Green Tomato Chutney Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 500g green tomatoes chopped into 2cm cubes
  • 500g onion chopped
  • 250g sultanas, raisins, prunes or dried apricots
  • 250g brown sugar
  • 500ml malt vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons salt
  • pepper
  • 2 tbsp salt
  • 2 tbsp curry powder

Method:

Combine ingredients in a heavy-based pot, bring to boil, reduce heat and simmer until thick (60 min).

Leave for at least a week….

….Hmmm, since we didn’t have a week to wait (my parents were only visiting for the weekend), we sort of skipped the ‘leave for  a week’ part. We were really pleased with how it turned out. Although I do have a few tips to help you compensate:

Tips: Add more curry powder to compensate for taste, as you can see from the photo (above) I was very liberal with it, also when you’re spooning the chutney into jars make sure it’s well mixed – some jars were a bit more vinegary than others and I think this is because it hadn’t had that week for the vinegar to be absorbed into the rest of the ingredients. So making sure it’s well stirred as you spoon it in will help.

Leave a Reply

