Paper, paper everywhere..

Paper reuse ideas

Got too much paper currency? (and not the good kind).  You know what I mean, those folders filled with bits and pieces torn from magazines, calendar’s, or those old postcards and maps you bought from that antique fair seven years ago.

My shelves are bursting with those things I just couldn’t throw in the trash.  Now they’re threatening to cascade into an avalanche of crafty proportions!  Some of them date back to when I was in high school.  Yikes.  Has it really been that long?

Well, fear not, I’m here to help you with your papery problems…

Wall mounted art

Colour plates from retro Edmonds Cookbook

Colour plates from retro Edmonds Cookbook

Craft projects don’t have to be extravagant, requiring newly purchased products.  I needed four things to make this wall art (above).  The colour plates, wood and hooks had been lying around my house for a while.  The P.V.A glue I had to buy, but boy, is it the gift that keeps on giving.  I use it all the time and not just for craft projects.

This required:

  1. An image
  2. Old wood
  3. P.V.A glue
  4. Picture hooks

To follow on from my last post I thought I would step you through how I made this.  It was really easy (aside from my jig sawing skills going awry – see previous Wabi-Sabi post). All I did was:

  • Trimmed colour plates so they were even
  • Found some old pieces of particle board destined for the rubbish heap
  • Drew outline of plates and cut with jig saw
  • Covered wood with P.V.A and pasted the colour plates
If you're into crafts, this PVA is a solid investment

If you’re into crafts, this PVA is a solid investment

  • After it’s dried use P.V.A as a sealer and cover the image, it dries clear so it’s good to use if you don’t have a glaze
  • Once dried, drill pilot holes in the back and attach hooks and voila!  Finished.
A few hooks fitted to the back of the particle board

A few hooks fitted to the back of the particle board

Some other ideas…

Here are a few other ideas on mounting images on wood.  You’re limited only by your imagination!

  • Sheet music
  • Old black and white or sepia postcards
  • Use the pages from an old dictionary
  • Antique maps/atlases
  • Get a retro vibe by using colour plates from 1960’s 1970’s encyclopedia’s

Do you have any tips or suggestions, success stories or failures?  Maybe you too have an avalanche of paper you would like to confess.

Don’t be shy…

Leave a Reply

