Inorganic Rubbish Collection Treasures: Part 1

Think this is case is cool?  Well, guess what.  It was free, wanna find out how I scored it?

Carry case

I’m going to let you in on a little secret…

It’s that time again…no, it has nothing to do with the changing of the season, it’s…INORGANIC RUBBISH collection!!!

For those non-Aucklanders out there let me tell you about this wondrous civic tradition.  Each suburb, once every two years is allowed to dump oversized junk next to the road and then the Council will go around, collect it, and take it to the tip for you.

I have a friend who is a seasoned professional at finding gems in the inorganic rubbish.  As long as you choose your suburbs carefully, ahem, *Remuera* you can find all sorts of amazing treasures.

Four years ago when she first told me about it I turned my nose up, but then I saw her finds.  You wouldn’t believe the things people throw out!  Brand new Morris and James pottery, beautiful Chinese folding screens (she found two that year), heaters, bikes, skii’s!!!  After that I was sold.

I admit, the first year was hard, I felt…ashamed, dodgy, because you’re essentially pawing through their rubbish in front of their houses.  Most people politely turn a blind eye, but then there were some people who actually came out and helped us. ‘Oh how about this piece?  It’s still quite good…’

I like to think of it as recycling, it was going to end up in the rubbish dump anyway and as long as you’re respectful and make sure you don’t make more of a mess of their junk pile then there really isn’t a problem.  And…a lot of people do it.

 

Leah’s top tips for the newbies to Inorganic Rubbish Collection:

  1. Have spies – As you know the schedule for which suburb is having inorganic rubbish collection isn’t really advertised.  So the best way to find out is to tell all your friends what you’re up to.  Also, keep your eyes peeled.
  2. Be prepared – first year I went with my friend we were kicking ourselves for not taking ties for the roof rack. We have to tie bits of trellis to the rack with string and rope we found in the rubbish.  We were sure we were going to be pulled over with our faces plastered on Police 10-7.  Moral of the story, you never know what you’ll find.  Make sure you have a good sized vehicle, a van, SUV, station wagon are best but even a car with fold down seats can be good.  Put a tarp or old sheets down – you’re dealing with rubbish people, ‘nuf said.
  3. Go early – Best time to go is Sunday afternoon because people are doing their chores around the house for the coming week, that’s when it seems most abundant.
  4. Be polite – Don’t be a jerk, you’re spending a lot of time cruising around streets so be courteous of other motorists who aren’t scavenging like you.  Pull over and let them pass if you’re going to be a turtle.  There is also the unwritten rule of finders keepers, if someone else has laid claim to a fabulous deck chair, deal with it and move on.  No fighting.  I’ve never, ever seen a disagreement amount treasure-hunters, so fall in line if you’re a newbie.

To help inspire you I will attach some photos of my past finds.  I will follow this post up with a second part talking about my latest ‘precious’ goodies from this year.

Believe it or not but this bar stool was much oranger when I first found it.  I sanded it and put a transfer image on it

Believe it or not but this bar stool was much oranger when I first found it. I sanded it and put a transfer image on it

These are two halves of a pantry door (brand new).  I have plans to make a drying rack for herbs and a magazine rack...stay tuned

These are two halves of a pantry door (brand new). I have plans to make a drying rack for herbs and a magazine rack…stay tuned

Happy hunting!

2 thoughts on “Inorganic Rubbish Collection Treasures: Part 1

  1. got to love that! we call it hard rubbish in melbourne and it has furnished much of our house lol! we have once a year so can change the decor regular 🙂

Leave a Reply

